2013 – Alchemy In Review

As this year comes to a close, I’m flooded with emotions, ideas, and inspirations. It’s been both a long year and a quick year with the first half being more satisfying than the latter half. I remind myself that there is a tidal ebb and flow to life and work – busy times and slow times – and I must appreciate those times that allow me to reflect.

This year, Alchemy presented our most emotional piece to date with “I Am We”, and I am so proud of that piece and the dancers who performed it.  What an amazing journey that was. We received grant funding and sponsor support for our home season shows as well as our first standing ovation (thanks audiences!). We created several new works, hosted multiple performances, performed in the Dance/USA conference and Come Together Festival among other shows, and were offered another touring opportunity. We found new fundraising opportunities and shot new videos that will be online soon. All in all, it’s been a good year.

2014 promises to be more challenging and rewarding as we expand our plans for a new performance project that has me very excited and ready to get back in the studio already. With auditions coming on 1/26 (http://www.alchemydancecompany/audition.html), I’m looking forward to new energies, ideas, and opportunities.

Happy Holidays and Blessings for the New Year.

-Amy

 

~ by alchemyamy on December 18, 2013.

Leave a comment